Missing link – Iberian cavalry

I have been short of Iberian cavalry for some time, and appears that my order contained one unit only, so I will be short of nominal complement for quite some time. However, to make most out of available figures, I managed to build one unit of Iberian mounted men – which incidentally appear to be quite bit better than the Roman counterparts. Not only because they have a bit higher impetus value – that is not really relevant, but because Caetratii may throw their javelins over the CM units without penalty – and they have VBU of 3. Something that might turn out to be remarkably handy feature.

Iberian cavalry4 Iberian cavalry3

I really wasn’t sure about couple of things, first I know that mail and iron were used readily in Iberia at the time, some excellent quality. Therefore I thought that mounted wealthier tribesmen (or nobles if the term applies) would be clad in mail, and wear iron or steel helmet instead of bronze. I also deducted – perhaps falsely that they would have trousers and boots in celtic fashion. If these assumptions are wrong, my apologies and would appreciate correction so I can implement it in future.

Iberian cavalry1

Additionally, I reduced the figure count somewhat per base, and hopefully I will bring some other elements to the vacated space in future. Probably I won’t change any of the existing ones, nor alter the extremely dense Cataphract layout but others will probably be seen this way.

Iberian cavalry2

This entry was posted in Impetus, Painting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

