French paint scheme, old versus new

Since Foundry brushes and paints for French finally arrived – somewhat late I might add, I have now been able to paint two regiments of French Cuirassiers and compare the results. I have tried to pay attention to the details that Baccus figures offer (but that requires still a quite bit more work).

New color scheme French cuirassiers

New color scheme French cuirassiers

Old color scheme French cuirassiers.

Old color scheme French cuirassiers.

I have to say that the new Cuirassiers turned out much better – even though they are still mounted in pony/cows (cownies?).

Wargames Foundry decided to include these to my paintbrush and paint order. Very nice of them.

Wargames Foundry decided to include these to my paintbrush and paint order. Very nice of them.

I have to say that albeit Foundry delivery took longer than expected, there was an apology accompanied by quite nice 28mm white metal cast figures (Some Austrian Landwehr command etc and sole knight). I will probably give try to those at some point when time permits, even if I do not really have use for them except of decoration. My gaming space is restricted, and will be probably even more so in future and do not have space for such a large scale games.

I do, however appreciate the thought and if the main thing – that is the brushes and paints live up to the reputation, then delay will not prevent me from doing more shopping there. For now, I do like the fine detail brushes, that are much better than the ones I used before.

Comparison of the old in the back, and new in the front.

Comparison of the old in the back, and new in the front.

Another comparison shot, old on a front, new at the back.

Another comparison shot, old on a front, new at the back.

This entry was posted in Drums and Shakos Large Battles, Painting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to French paint scheme, old versus new

  1. Richard says:

    Great painting you have done a lovely job on the baccus cavalry look forward to seeing more

    Richard

    Perfect six

    • Tichy says:

      Thanks for your kind words Richard. There will be more – in fact, sometime in relatively near future I start to work on two Polish ułan regiments. There is great deal to improve in painting and color choices but given enough time and practice, I get them right.

      I do take inspiration from your excellent work with perfect six.

Leave a Reply

